I’ve heard from a few people lately who’ve been asking if (and insisting that) my consecutive games streak is over. Why? Because I was ejected last week from Nationals Park during the second game of a single-admission doubleheader.
Did I snag any baseballs during the second game?
No, I snagged 11 balls before and during the first game.
So, then, is my streak over?
No . . . and I’d like to quote myself to prove it.
If you turn to page 317 of The Baseball, you’ll see the following line near the top: “Single-admission doubleheaders should be counted as one ‘game.’”
I have a whole set of statistical rules that I follow — and I’ve been following them since I snagged my first ball in 1990. Any time that I go to a major league stadium where major league players are playing in a major league event, I count it as a “game.” Single-admission doubleheaders have always been one “game” for me, and whenever I’ve gone and snagged a few balls and the game got rained out before it even started, that has also been a “game.” (Here’s an example. Let me just say, though, that if I were to attend a rainout and NOT snag any balls, it wouldn’t count as a “game.” It’s sort of like the “and-one” scenario in basketball; if you’re fouled while taking a shot, it only counts as a “shot attempt” if you make it.) The Home Run Derby is also a “game” in my stats. And so on.
Sorry for the confusion. Looking back on everything, I suppose I should’ve mentioned this on my blog as soon as I was ejected, but I’ve discussed it so many times in the past that I didn’t think it was necessary.
I hope this entry clears things up.
(And by the way, sorry for not answering comments lately. I’ve been reading them all, but I’ve been really really really busy.)